Performing action...

Home

  • 18/11/2013  New Publication: Neural correlates of non-verbal social interactions: a Dual-EEG study
    Ménoret M, Varnet L, Fargier R, Cheylus A, Curie A, des Portes V, Nazir TA, Paulignan Y
    Neuropsychologia (2013)
  • 13/05/2013 Let's all speak together! Exploring the masking effects of various languages on spoken word identification in multi-linguistic babble. PloS ONE
    Gautreau, A., Hoen, M. & Meunier, F. (in press).
  • 13/05/2013 Simultaneous action execution and observation optimise grasping actions. Experimental Brain Research. doi: 10.1007/s00221-013-3523-3
    Ménoret M., Curie A., des Portes V., Nazir T.A. and Paulignan Y. (2013)
  • 13/05/2013 next BBag: June, 6th, room C
    Pierre Larrivée (Caen)
    Morphosyntactic correlates of gestures: A gesture associated with negation in French and its relation to speech.

Read More

L2C2: from situated to nonsituated cognition through language and neural networks

In the past few years, L2C2 has been interested mainly in language evolution and in the distinction between code and inference in linguistic communication. Without entirely forsaking these themes, the research in the years to come will be reoriented toward the passage from situated or embodied cognition (unplanned action, perception, behavior reading, etc.) to nonsituated or abstract cognition (planned action, conceptualization, mindreading, etc.). Though the distinction between situated and nonsituated cognition is often formulated as an exclusive characterization of cognition as a whole, the approach chosen here is based on an empirical distinction between the two types of processes. Thus, the question is how nonsituated or abstract processes can arise from situated or embodied processes. One important hypothesis is that part of the answer is to be found in language and in the creation of long-distance neural networks in development and learning. A further hypothesis is to the effect that human reasoning shares structures, both formal (syntax) and physiological (brain areas) with language.

The laboratory also develops a new interest, in social cognition. Here two main strands are investigated: coordination in face to face interaction (neurophysiological investigation of brain waves synchronization); and the development of abilities for the detection and management of social hierarchies in young children (behavioral investigation).

The interdisciplinary composition of L2C2 which gathers researchers from linguistics, psychology, neuroscience, genetics, philosophy and computer modeling as well as neuro-pediatricians and child-psychiatrists, makes it the appropriate place to approach such a question.

Performing action...

Accueil

  • 18/11/2013   Nouvelle publication : Neural correlates of non-verbal social interactions: a Dual-EEG study
    Ménoret M, Varnet L, Fargier R, Cheylus A, Curie A, des Portes V, Nazir TA, Paulignan Y
    Neuropsychologia (2013)
  • 13/05/2013 Let's all speak together! Exploring the masking effects of various languages on spoken word identification in multi-linguistic babble. PloS ONE
    Gautreau, A., Hoen, M. & Meunier, F. (in press).
  • 13/05/2013 Simultaneous action execution and observation optimise grasping actions. Experimental Brain Research. doi: 10.1007/s00221-013-3523-3
    Ménoret M., Curie A., des Portes V., Nazir T.A. and Paulignan Y. (2013)
  • 13/05/2013 prochain BBag : Jeudi 6 juin à 13h, salle C
    Pierre Larrivée (Caen)
    Morphosyntactic correlates of gestures: A gesture associated with negation in French and its relation to speech..

Lire plus

L2C2: de la cognition située à la cognition non située via le langage et les réseaux de neurones.

Dans les dernières années, L2C2 s'est principalement intéressé à l'évolution du langage et à la distinction entre code et inférence dans la communication linguistique. Sans renoncer à ces thématiques, la recherche dans les années à venir se réorientera vers le passage de la cognition située ou incarnée (embodied) — action non planifiée, perception, lecture du comportement, etc. — à la cognition non-située ou abstraite — action planifiée, conceptualisation, lecture de l'esprit, etc. Bien que la distinction entre cognition située et non-située soit souvent formulée de manière absolue, l'une ou l'autre étant supposée caractériser l'ensemble de la cognition, l'approche adoptée ici est basée sur une distinction empirique entre des processus cognitifs qui ressortissent à l'une ou à l'autre. Ainsi, la question posée est celle de la façon dont les processus non-situés ou abstraits émergent de processus situés ou incarnés. Une hypothèse importante est qu'une partie de la réponse sera trouvée dans le langage et dans la création de réseaux de neurones à longue distance lors du développement et de l'apprentissage. On peut aussi faire l'hypothèse que le raisonnement humain partage des structures, à la fois formelles (syntaxe) et physiologiques (aires cérébrales) avec le langage.

Le laboratoire développe aussi une nouvelle thématique, la cognition sociale. Ici deux aspects principaux sont abordés : la coordination dans les interactions en face à face (investigations neurophysiologique de la synchronisation des ondes cérébrales) ; et le développement des capacités de détection et de gestion des hiérarchies sociales chez le jeune enfant (investigations comportementales).

La composition interdisciplinaire de L2C2, qui rassemble des chercheurs de disciplines aussi variées que la linguistique, la psychologie, les neurosciences, la philosophie, la modélisation informatique, mais aussi des neuropédiatres et des pédopsychiatres, en fait un lieu approprié pour l'investigation d'une telle question.